Panchasheel Gatha – The Prayer

Namo Tassa Bhagavato Arahato Sammasam Buddhasa

Namo Tassa Bhagavato Arahato Sammasam Buddhasa

Namo Tassa Bhagavato Arahato Sammasam Buddhasa

Namo (I rever)
Tassa (You) Bhagvato (the Ochre Robed, living with perfect morality),
Arathato (having attained Nirvana) Sammasam Buddhasa  (the perfected Buddha)

I pay respect to you, the Noble One, the enlightened One, the Perfected Buddha

Buddham saranam gacchami 

I take refuge, seek protection, in the Buddha, knowing clearly his qualities of compassion, understanding and his ability to provide the right guidance.

Dhammam Saranam Gacchami

I take refuge, seek protection, in the Dhamma – the Buddha’s teachings knowing clearly that it provides the right guidance.

Sangham Saranam Gacchami

I take refuge, seek protection, in the Sangha – the people and the monks, who have followed the Dhamma and benefitted and their ability to guide me on the right path.

Panatipata veramani sikhha padam samadhiyami

I refrain from taking life and harming living beings.

Addinadana veramani sikhha padam samadhiyami

I refrain from stealing and taking what is not given.

Kamesumicchachara veramani sikhha padam samadhiyami

I refrain from indulging in sexual misconduct.

Musavada veramani sikhha padam samadhiyami

I will refrain from false speech – telling lies, talking ill of others, talking unnecessarily

Surameraya majja pamadathana veramani sikhha padam samadhiyami

I refrain from taking intoxicants that reduce normal functioning of mind.


Hey, it just sounds to me like you need to unplug, man.


This book “Attaining Nirvana” is about Nirvana or complete eradication of suffering of living beings, that Buddha gained more than 2500 years ago. Buddha taught the path to eradication of suffering or the path to Nirvana following which many people have gained Nirvana over these years. Even now, and in future too, anybody can attain Nirvana by following Buddha’s teachings or Dhamma.

Though there are many books on Buddhism, there are very few books referring to any possibility of attaining Nirvana and still less in this very life time. Buddha’s teachings are directed towards Nirvana – complete eradication of sufferings/Dukkha. Many monks have attained Nirvana to become Arahat in a single lifetime by following Buddha’s teachings. We have tried to include in this book only those teachings that are relevant to attaining Nirvana and can be easily practiced by any layman. Other teaching may be added as a separate part in future if needed.

Some Buddhist concepts are very simple for anyone to understand. But some are very difficult for even brilliant minds to grasp easily. They are difficult because our mind refuse to accept these concepts. These are concepts we have grown up to mean something else and we are unable to change our view. There are a lot of good books on Buddhism covering every aspect of Buddhism and a lot of them are for free distribution. Readers are advised to read other books on Buddhism too, to better grasp the concepts.

This book is covered in three parts. Part I – Practice, Part II – Insight and Part III – Nirvana and You.

Part I is Practice, the practising part of attaining Nirvana. It has basic required teachings which are essential to attain Nirvana. It basically deals with understanding of the Four Noble Truth for eradicating suffering and Noble Eight Fold Path that needs to be followed for Attaining Nirvana. It includes a hand chart that can be used for practising.

Part II is Insight which is essential, but not readily grasped by our mind. This also makes Buddhism different from other philosophies in the world. This is the understanding part of attaining Nirvana. It deals with concepts that make attaining Nirvana easier and also make it more clear what nirvana actually is and why it is so important to attain Nirvana and eradicate our suffering. This Part covers Karma, Rebirth and Dependent Origination.

Part III is Nirvana and You, this chapter will help you understand Nirvana better, clear your doubts, give motivation and help you check your development progress. This part covers topics which aid in practising for Attaining Nirvana and may not be directly related to Buddha’s teachings. This is also the reason these chapters are kept separate.

%d bloggers like this: